Nostalgia

Author’s note:

This will be my first submission at Written On A Whim. The poem is of a highly subjective nature and I suppose would make greater sense to people who live in either one of twin cities. Hope you like it.

 

Not so long ago,

Little things meant a lot.

Walking across the room,

Climbing a step of a flight of stairs

Were big achievements.

 

As the years passed by,

I walked way more than just a few steps

But never alone.

With time I started to go solo

But never beyond the great bridge that separated the twin cities;

Crossing it for a family trip was always a thrill.

 

Coming to the present

A journey across that great bridge is a routine affair, almost mundane.

I look at myself

And see that I have grown;

Far different from that little boy who walked a few steps to his mother’s delight.

I now have strength to stand alone, to traverse the greatest journey

With the goodwill, not the aid of my loved ones.

 

But every now and then,

I yearn for the big thrills in doing small things

Until I realize that age nor my experience shall allow it anymore.

Leave a Reply

