Memories

Lying down on my bed

As I stare into the darkness above,

I forget the drone of the fan

And get drawn into a cerebral stream. 

 

Faint images of people,

And their clearer voices.

I get immersed into every happy smile, 

Every sentence of mirth, 

Every moment of tomfoolery, 

Every cuss word shouted in mock frustration.

Why, I even felt that friendly 

But forceful pat on my shoulder

All over again! 

 

I never realize when my mind veers away

And I am drawn into the dark abyss. 

Every humiliation, every grave folly, 

Every utterance made in red and green

Every argument witnessed, participated.

They fill me with bitter regret 

And sheer distrust. 

 

The ceiling is still dark, 

My eyes still staring at it.

A yawn escapes my mouth

And I turn over

Worrying about tomorrow,

Even as my mind is arranging for another spectacle. 


You may also like:

 

Leave a Reply

