My Bipolar Self

Am I a good human?

People think so, but I don’t.

 

They think I’m polite;

I think it is the best way to live

With a body lacking in might.

With Herculean strength bestowed

I know not what I would have been.

 

They think I’m sincere;

I think it is wiser to be on the beaten path

Than to be caught in the act.

With the tact of Clive

I know not what I would have been.

 

They say I’m decent;

I grin, it is my social awkwardness

That weighs down my intentions.

With Napoleonic confidence

I know not what I would have been.

 

They think I’m God-fearing;

Exactly so, the fear of the Almighty

Binds me reluctantly to the path of ‘good’.

Oh if king Henry were my inspiration

I know not what I would have been.

 

I am thankful for who I am

But shudder at the darkness within.

Endowed with the majesty of Himself

Another Satan would I have been?

Leave a Reply

