Strange Ways

He stopped his friend as he was leaving the lecture theatre. Something had been bothering him for a long, long time.

“What are you doing?”

His friend, with his calm demeanour, replied,

“What are you talking about?”

“Why are you always chatting up with her?”

His friend gave him an incredulous state and said, “because I like her…and she’s actually great company.”

He was quite abashed on hearing this reply, “I know that you’ve had a crush on her for a while now and it looks extremely pathetic.”

“She’s never asked me to go away.”

“You know this will be going nowhere, she sees you as a mere friend and at the most, as a little brother.”

“I know that.”

“She also has a boyfriend.”

“I know that too.”

“Then what’s the point of hanging out with her?” He was losing it. He simply couldn’t understand the pathetic ways of his friend and was beginning to find credence in the rumours that he was indeed trying to act like a third wheel between her and her boyfriend.

His friend just said, “it is true that I have had a crush of sorts on her. But you know what, when I have conversations with her even in the capacity of a friend or a brother I feel very happy. 

Then it hit me, if being a friend itself makes me happy, I don’t need to go any further than that. Call me pathetic for that, if you may, but I shall indulge in my source of joy howsoever twisted it is.

I have realised one thing for sure; if I were to ever be in a relationship, I’d probably die of the happiness,” and he smiled rather shyly.

He stared on, trying to take in his friend’s reasoning. Finally speaking out, “that sounds desperate…and yet not desperate at all. Have your way then.”

And he walked away, before turning back towards him again with a smirk on his face.

“I would really like to see you die of happiness, you pathetic friend of mine.”

His friend smirked back.

Leave a Reply

